William D. Schaeffer Environmental Award

Nominations for the 2018 William D. Schaeffer Environmental Award are now open. Nominations must be postmarked, faxed, or emailed by April 22, 2019.

Download the Nomination Form and recognize an environmental advocate.

How to Nominate Someone

  • Using the eligibility requirements as a guide, provide a detailed description of a candidate's actions and results of their efforts as they specifically apply to the nomination criteria.
  • Supply a detailed biography and descriptions of accomplishments for the candidate. Past successful nominations focused on the results of a candidate's efforts and how they benefited the industry rather than listing what the candidate had done.
  • Complete the nomination form.
  • Letters of support for the candidate are highly encouraged.
  • Submit all required and supplemental materials to:

Marketing Department
Printing Industries of America
301 Brush Creek Road
Warrendale, PA 15086-7529
Email: marketing [at] printing.org
Fax: 412-741-2311

If you would like to view an example of a model submission, please email EHS [at] printing.org (subject: Model%20Schaeffer%20Award%20Submission, body: I%20am%20interested%20in%20receiving%20the%20model%20Schaeffer%20Award%20submission.) .

Eligible candidates will be judged on how their actions benefited the industry in the areas listed below. It is recommended that a candidate has demonstrated activity in a number of criteria, with significant accomplishments in at least one.

Eligibility guidelines:

  • Education - increasing knowledge of environmental effects of materials and processes employed in printing operations to both the printing industry and regulatory agencies (e.g., did the nominee conduct or participate in studies relating to the printing or binding process?)
  • Public Relations - promotion of a wholesome and active graphic communications image by addressing and mitigating regulatory and public concerns for the environmental impact of graphic communications operations (e.g., did the nominee project a positive reputation by developing strong working relationships with regulatory agencies that had a positive impact for the entire subsegment of the industry?)

  • Continuous Improvement - encouragement of better sustainable business practices and reduction of health hazards within the printing industry (e.g., did the nominee develop environmental compliance programs or technology, or did the nominee promote new sustainability procedures designed to simultaneously protect the environment?)

  • Compliance Assistance - industry assistance with EPA and OSHA regulations (e.g., did the nominee effectively communicate requirements of new regulations?)

  • Regulatory Issue Involvement - investments of time and/or personal or organizational resources that have benefited the industry in terms of cost savings, more reasonable regulations, improved community relations, and/or a more wholesome work environment (e.g., did the nominee show dedication or direct resources toward improving regulatory requirements for the industry?)

  • Pioneering Efforts - unique efforts or creation of an original sustainable development that contributed to healthier working conditions and improved environmental control (e.g., did the nominee develop a system or product that reduced environmental or health hazards?)

Previous winners are not eligible for a second award. Candidates do not have to be Printing Industries of America members.

History of the Award

Established in 1990, this award is named for environmental pioneer and researcher Dr. William D. Schaeffer (1922-2003). Dr. Schaeffer was known and widely respected for providing environmentally sound activities for the graphic communications industries and a rational perspective for those who develop environmental regulations for the industry. Schaeffer directed Printing Industries of America (formerly GATF)'s Research Department activities for 20 years before retiring in 1989. In 1983 he became the executive director of the Environmental Conservation Board of the Graphic Communications Industry (ECB), Inc., a post he held until 1991. His ongoing environmental advocacy typifies the leadership activities expected of award recipients, said Printing Industries of America's Research Steering Committee. Nominations are judged by past Schaeffer Award winners and industry leaders. The recipient is presented with an engraved plaque at Printing Industries of America's Spring Administrative Meetings.

Past Recipients of the Schaeffer Award

2018          Paul Gutkowski

2017          George Fuchs

2016          Robert Fricke 

2015          Calvin Frost

2014          Gary Jones

2013          Laura M Thompson

2012          No Award Given

2011          Stephen R. Whittaker

2010          Dr. Gary David Miller

2009          Doreen Monteleone

2008          Marilyn Jones

2007          Robert Birkland

2006          Stuart McMichael

2005          Mark J. Flannery

2004          J. Thomas Ravn

2003          Frank C. Barnett

2002          No Award Given

2001          Marcia Y. Kinter

2000          Dale Kalina

1999          Jeffrey R. Adrian

1998          Walter Zerweck

1997          David Johnson

1996          Henry Rodriguez

1995          Gerald M. Bonetto

1994          Thomas W. Reese

1993          Gerald J. Bender

1992          Harvey F. George

1991          Dr. Albert R. Materazzi

1990          Dr. William D. Schaeffer

PDF icon 2018_schaeffernominationform.pdf1.97 MB